Syndicate content

Best Reviewer

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Best Reviewer

http://rpgtown.proboards2.com/index.cgi?board=review

That should help a wee bit. This will work a bit differently, as I found nominations for this to be quite weak (a total of 3, 2 of which had about 3-word reviews :drool: ). So how it will work is your post someone else's review (Don't be stupid and nominate yourself under an alias please), tell us a bit about what you like, then if reviews be one person keep getting submitted they win outright, but if it is quite close it'll move on to a poll. All useless posts (control yourself Jakey) will be ignored, and if the person's review(s) were nominated they will be made nil. Oh, and don't try to take useless the wrong way, you know perfectly well what it means.

Good, bad, I'm the mod with the gun.

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 15 Jul 2004

After having a good look through those reviews, I'm sadly going to have to go with myself and my one tiny review.
Nearly all of those consisted of "This was good", "This was nice", "This was good" or "This was good", which is a poor evaluation of a game, band, film or book. They are considers the weakest terms that can be included in a review and they should always be avoiding or at least limited to being only used once.

Some of the reviews were just awful, "This was shite!". It was truly a shocking read on the Proboard's review section. Hopefully the standard has improved since then.

To make myself look less arrogant, I will add others that I deem worthy reviews:

* Curt (Xenogears)

* Exeox (None in particular, but here is an example) - This was done a while back. I'd expect that his skills have improved since. This one is below Curt's, but better than the others on the Proboards.

(So if I cannot choose myself, I will go with Curt)

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 14 Jul 2004

Remember, it isn't just those, that's just a starting point. People have reviews all over the place.

Good, bad, I'm the mod with the gun.

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 14 Jul 2004

TheInquisitor - Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix

The review focuses on things not commonly looked at in reviews, like "The way the story was told." It's short, yes, but focuses on the key points, both good and bad.

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 15 Jul 2004

Hah, that review is old a bloody awful. Best go with my new one.

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 14 Jul 2004

Haha, well -I- really liked the review. =)

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Quote:

Originally posted by Inquisitor
Hah, that review is old a bloody awful. Best go with my new one.

Ha ha, bloody aweful. Sounds so British.

But I do thjink that Inq does get to the point and is a good criticizer. He is very critical and I like that in reviews. I hate reviews that just attempt to be nice.

???????????

Offline
Ultra TownieMega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 16 Jul 2004

I reviewed a banana once.

Offline
Mega TownieSuper TownieGreat TownieTownie
Joined: 14 Jul 2004

Xenogears

Introduction - First off, I'd like to say that once you buy this game, you won't want to stop. It's that addicting. So, now that you've been warned, on with the review. Xenogears was made by Square way back in 1998, at the peak of the Playstation years. When this game was first released, it took quite a while to be localized here in the US due to the religious themes present through-out the game. Due to the controversy surrounding the game, the interest in the States skyrocketed, and for a good reason.

Gone are the days of the clichéd storylines of the knight gone to save the princess. Wrapped up into a 70 hour utopia, we have life, death, resurrection, wars, peace, technology, religion, etc, all of the great elements in a game. And the way they streamline together, it STILL beats any RPG on the market, hands down. Nothing could ever compare to Xenogears in terms of storyline. However, it does take a while for the good twists to come, which may deter the casual RPG'er.

Yasunori Mitsuda did a great job on bringing the classic Celtic feel, while adding some of his own flavor. A good example would be Track 17on the OST, disc 1 (Aveh, Ancient Dance). It’s got that Celtic flare I was talking about, as well as a hint of Middle Eastern, to accompany the “open air marketplace” of Aveh.. As sound effects go, they aren’t as good. Some strange sounding smashing sounds for pushing a button, and other various tasks. This could have been improved upon, in my opinion.

The game brings something to the RPG market no other game at this point has done, save Legend of Legaia. That is, the real time combo battle system. Let me explain it. First off, you enter a battle with your three men/women. You start out with a set number of AP per turn (for example, 5 AP given to Fei at the start of his turn.) Out of a possible eight commands, you may choose the basic Attack and Magic commands, but it also includes more. If you choose Attack, you have 3 different attacks, low, medium and high. High uses 3 AP, medium uses 2 and low uses 1. You may now do a combination of attacks until Fei’s 5 AP runs out. Also, if you do the right combination of buttons, you perform a Deathblow. You may also choose to save AP (use only the low attack then stop) and save it for a combo, which is a bunch of Deathblow attacks combined in one turn. So, the battle system lets you perform a multitude of different ways to beat up the baddies. Also included in the game is a gear battle system. There is only one slight difference for that though. Instead of getting a set amount of AP per turn, you have a much larger number (for example, 2000) of fuel units to start out with. Each attack (low, medium and high) uses 10 fuel, 20 fuel and 30 fuel, respectively. Other than that, the gear battles are not much different from the human counterpart.

One last thing I have to mention about gameplay. When you reach Kislev for the first time, you are able to play what’s called “Battling” which is a lot like a fighter game, such as Street Fighter, in which you battle in your gears. This side event is a great diversion from the main game and allows you to blow off some tension in your system from the previous tense moments.

This game is the root of 3D polygonal displays. You have to give them credit for incorporating the rotating camera and making everything 3D. This allowed for much freer movement when trying to navigate around dungeons, as well as more “lively” scenes. Also, the 3D allowed for a lot more interaction with the background than most RPGs like Chrono Cross have. The cut scenes in this game were incredible, as well, a lot like watching a great anime show. The expressions and movements of the characters in cut scenes are so anime-like; you just have to give them credit.

This is one not to miss out on. The story, the music, the battles, everything will leave you wanting more. The only downsides to the game it are its slow start on the story and the below-par sound effects. Everything else in the game was phenomenal. Pick up a copy, ASAP.

Possible buying locations:
http://www.gexpress.com
http://www.square-enix-usa.com/playonline/

-Curt

This was a full reveiw of Xenogears that I did a while back.

<span style='font-family:Impact'><span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>[center][img]http://www.sonymusicstore.com/coverimages/SME_0101_C2K_065774.70Q_

Topic locked

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 4 guests online.